Get Some Headspace

“Get Some Headspace” brings us the extraordinary science behind this seemingly simple cure-all. This book and practice will help readers positively impact every area of their physical and mental health, from productivity and focus, to stress and anxiety relief, sleep, weight-loss, personal relationships…and the list goes on and on.”

Author: Andy Puddicombe

Genre: non-fiction, health, self-help

Year: 2011

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Length: 8h 19min

ISBN: 1444722204

It’s weird how, of all the books I’ve been reading lately, I chose to start this blog with a ‘self-help’ one. The truth is, although I do have a clear preference over fiction, if a book’s topic is interesting enough and I truly believe I’ll get something positive out of it, a genre is just a genre.

In this case in particular, I had known about Andy Puddicombe and Headspace long before even knowing this book existed. I was recommended to try out meditation long ago to help deal with my anxiety problems and, after long periods of doubt and feeling stupid, I found this app called Headspace. I was a bit skeptical at first but, a year later, I’ve not only taken up meditation but also do it on a daily basis.

So, when I found out about the book I thought the obvious option was to get the audiobook version of it because I’ve been listening to Puddicombe’s voice for over a year now on my meditation sessions and I’ve come to find his voice really relaxing and soothing, so why not hear him tell his own story?

Many of the things you get in the book are things you get to know session by session once you’ve downloaded the app and started practicing, but having more than just ten minutes to explain everything gives the opportunity to explain things in more detail and give examples (some really good ones, I must say) and give you the ‘why’ of each exercise.

If I was surprised at how overwhelmingly effective his meditation sessions can be, this book has been a complete eye-opener. Wise words, moving stories and great lessons.

“We can’t change every little thing that happens to us in life, but we can change the way that we experience it.”

screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-13-56-07

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Great stuff Marina, love this 🙂

    I have been enjoying using headspace for many months now and like you have reaped the benefits of daily meditation.

    I have been meaning to read his book and I think I will definitely have to line it up ready to read soon now.

    Loving the content, keep doing what you’re doing! 🙂

    PS – On a related note, I’m on the hunt for feedback for my new show The HERO Podcast! It’s all about creating healthy habits. The episode with Derek Doepker may be of interest to you, where he discusses making lasting changes. You can check it out (and maybe leave a short review if you like) here: http://apple.co/2kjNoGN

    Like

    1. marinasendkast says:

      Thank you so much Luke!(and sorry for the late response) I’m happy to hear someone else is enjoying the benefits of Headspace and I truly recommend this book to give some depth to the exercises on the app.
      As for your podcast, I’ve just started giving it a listen and I’ve enjoyed it so far. As soon as I get through it a little more you can expect a review from me 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Interesting, it does sound like a great read! Thank you, that means a lot! Glad you’ve been enjoying it 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

